Yoga is learning by doing. All we experience and learn through our own practice is true to us. It is also important to remember that however it is true to us, it is not true or the truth for everyone else. Yoga is always personal. We are able to learn if we take off our masks and are willing to face ourselves as we are.

For me it is important that yoga teacher is genuine; no roles whatsover. No playing mind-games. For me teacher must be willing to share knowledge, to give advice and guidance. I need it to happen without forcing and respecting my own process and view of the world. Like-mindedness is not important. If I notice that teacher is trying brainwash everybody to think the way teacher thinks, I run away as fast as I can. That is not yoga. I need space to figure out my own truth via my own yoga path.

As a student it is important to understand that no teacher can do your practice for you. You have to do it yourself. If you expect everything to be handed for you on a silver plate that is mental lazyness. And I believe that Pattabhi Jois was talking about mental lazyness as well when he said ''Anyone can practice. Young man can practice. Old man can practice. Very old man can practice. Man who is sick, he can practice. Man who doesn't have strength can practice. Except lazy people; lazy people can't practice Ashtanga yoga.''